About the UAE


The United Arab Emirates (UAE) is a federation of seven emirates each governed by a hereditary emir, with a single national president. The constituent emirates are Abu Dhabi, Ajman, Dubai, Fujairah, Ras al-Khaimah, Sharjah, and Umm al-Quwain. The capital is Abu Dhabi, which is also the state’s centre of political, industrial, and cultural activities. The UAE, sometimes simply called the Emirates, is a country situated in the southeast of the Arabian Peninsula in Western Asia on the Arabian Gulf, bordering Oman to the east and Saudi Arabia to the south, as well as sharing sea borders with Qatar to the west and Iran to the north.

The UAE’s political system is based on its 1971 Constitution, which is composed of several intricately connected governing bodies. As a federation of seven monarchies, whose rulers retain absolute power within their emirates, but with a UAE president, it is neither a constitutional monarchy nor a republic. The constitution is concerned solely with the relations between the emirates as members of the federation, and does not prescribe a constitutional system of government.

Islam is the official religion of the UAE and Arabic is the official language.

UAE oil reserves are ranked as the worlds sixth-largest and it possesses one of the most developed economies in West Asia.

The UAE occupies an area of 83,600 sq km, four-fifths of which is desert, yet it is a country of contrasting landscapes, from awe-inspiring dunes to rich oases, precipitous rocky mountains to fertile plains.